Irises

Purple Irises

Purple Irises

Here’s another flower painting I finished recently.  These Irises are descendants of flowers my late aunt had grown.  She gave us some bulbs many years ago, and these are all that have survived over the years.  Irises are my favorite flower as they remind me of my Grandmother.

This painting was done on an 8″ x 10″ panel.  It took me a while to paint it, as I used many layers of glazes to give the petals a look of translucency.  The wood grain of the table too was painted using many glazes.  Each layer has to dry before going on to the next step of the painting.  I’ve heard it said that the Great Master Titian would use up to forty glazes while painting a picture, and Titian has been called the greatest colorist of all the Old Masters.

It hasn’t been easy lately for me trying to paint while I’m in so much pain.  But it seems that this is the state of things for now, and I don’t want to sacrifice my art unless I’m absolutely forced to do so.  I’ve seen a photograph of Monet in his old age painting outside in his beautiful water lily garden, where he had brushes tied to his hands so he could still paint despite a crippling arthritic type condition (a condition perhaps due to years of exposure to toxins in his paints).

“Create something beautiful every day.”

This has become my motto.  Even in the dark loneliness of suffering, create something beautiful.  It gives hope to what can sometime seem to be a hopeless situation.

Comments are closed.

