Portrait of the Artist’s Mother

Portrait of the Artist's Mother

Portrait of the Artist's Mother

This is a portrait of my mother I did a couple of years ago when I first went back to painting.  She is eighty-eight years old, and I told her I wanted to paint her picture as I see her daily, dressed in her “house dress”.  She agreed to pose for the picture, but wasn’t too happy that she had to be dressed in such plain daily attire.  After all, she is a fine southern Lady.  Well as it turns out, I painted another two portraits of her after this one, which I will show in a future post.  It just happens that I entered this painting in a local art show this year and it won “Best of Show”.  It was prominently displayed in the city’s cultural activities center for a month, much to my mother’s chagrin.  She exclaimed to me, indifferent that I had won best of show, that she was going to be “on display to the whole town in her house dress!”  Bless her heart…what a hoot!

Comments are closed.

